Current Page: HOME

About the APVIA Awards

The Asian Photovoltaic Industry Association (APVIA) has launched the Asia Photovoltaic Awards named “APVIA Awards” to recognize organizations and individuals who have made outstanding contributions to the photovoltaic industry through achievements in the areas of capability development or innovation. It is primarily an Asia-Pacific Award but not restricted exclusively to Asia-Pacific citizens.
APVIA Awards are presented in five categories – Industry, Technology, Education, Finance and Application, to organizations/institutions or individuals. These five categories will provide opportunities to honor established and emerging companies, research institutes, professionals, entrepreneurs and individuals across the entire photovoltaic industry. This will include power utilities, photovoltaic sectors as well as the merging sectors of energy efficiency, clean and renewable energy.
The nomination and awards evaluation of the inaugural APVIA Awards started in July 2013, which was warmly responded to by the PV community. Many enterprises and experts took an active part in it. After the evaluation of the Judging Committee, two outstanding individuals and five well-known enterprises/institutions were honoured with the APVIA Awards. 2013 APVIA Awards Ceremony was held in Sands Expo & Convention Centre of Marina Bay Sands in Singapore on 29 Oct. 2013, where Mr. Kng Meng Hwee, Deputy Chief Executive of Energy Market Authority (EMA) of Singapore, Mr. Gongshan Zhu, Chief Chairman of APVIA and Executive Director, Chairman & CEO of GCL-Poly, Dr. Zhengrong Shi, Founder of Suntech and the former Chief Chairman of APVIA, and Prof. Armin Aberle, CEO of Solar Energy Research Institute of Singapore (SERIS) presented the awards to the winners respectively.

Categories of Awards

APVIA Awards are launched to honor the individuals, organizations or corporate bodies with outstanding merits in the following aspects in the previous year:

1.APVIA Award - Industrial Contribution recognizes key PV players with outstanding business performance and industry leaders whose vision and achievements have influenced the whole PV community for the leading roles they have played in the development of the industry and the contribution they have made to the advancement of the industry in the previous year. This Award will be presented to: a) Enterprise; b) Individual.

2.APVIA Award - Technological Achievement recognizes universities/colleges, research institutes, enterprises and individuals (e.g. scientists, engineers, technicians, etc.) for their scientific and technical innovation in the PV industry and their efforts in the harnessing of new technologies, new materials and new techniques for the PV products. This Award will be presented to: a) University/Institute; b) Enterprise; c) Individual.

3.APVIA Award - Academic Contribution celebrates universities/colleges, training institutions and scientific research institutes for their contribution to PV practitioners’ education and cultivation, as well as enterprises which have attached importance to talents cultivation and sponsored related educational and scientific research institutes, or individuals who have made special contributions to talents cultivation. This Award will be presented to: a) University/Institute; b) Enterprise; c) Individual.

4.APVIA Award - Banking and Financing Initiative celebrates financial institutions, such as banks, insurance companies and funds, etc. for the financial support they have offered to PV industry and their continuous drive for innovative business models.

5.APVIA Award - Photovoltaic Application recognizes photovoltaic plant investors, developers, operators, engineering companies, etc. for their investment in photovoltaic plants as well as the successful cases they have achieved which can serve as development models. This Award will be presented to: a) Univerisity/Institute; b) Enterprise.